AAP Nominates Swati Maliwal, DCW Chairperson, for Rajya Sabha Seat, Reaffirms Trust in Experienced Leaders

In a significant development on Friday, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) nominated Swati Maliwal, currently serving as the chairperson of the Delhi Commission for Women (DCW), as a Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha. This move underscores the party’s commitment to bringing diverse voices and effective leaders into the political arena. The AAP, led by Arvind Kejriwal, also reaffirmed their trust in experienced figures by renominating Sanjay Singh and ND Gupta to the Upper House, a decision announced by the party’s Political Affairs Committee (PAC).

The nominations highlight the party’s strategic approach in leveraging the expertise of accomplished individuals like Swati Maliwal, demonstrating a continued focus on addressing key social issues and contributing to legislative discussions on a national level. With this announcement, the AAP reinforces its commitment to shaping policies and championing causes that align with its vision for a progressive and inclusive society.

In the inspiring journey from a passionate young activist to a Rajya Sabha nominee, Swati Maliwal has carved a path dedicated to advocating for women’s rights and social justice. Her early involvement in the Indian Against Corruption movement showcased a commitment to driving change from a grassroots level. Maliwal’s dedication led her to serve as the advisor to the Chief Minister of Delhi on public grievances before assuming the role of chairperson at the Delhi Commission for Women (DCW).

Maliwal’s impact transcends her official roles, as she actively engages in campaigns against violence targeting women. Her advocacy extends to pushing for stringent laws, fostering gender equality, and enhancing women’s safety in Delhi, particularly in the face of rising concerns about sexual harassment. Her nomination to the Rajya Sabha by the Aam Aadmi Party signifies a recognition of her unwavering commitment to these crucial causes.

As the Aam Aadmi Party announces the renomination of experienced leaders Sanjay Singh and ND Gupta, it reflects a strategic move to maintain a blend of seasoned expertise and fresh perspectives in the political landscape. Meanwhile, Sushil Kumar Gupta, expressing an intention to redirect his focus towards Haryana’s electoral politics, adds a poignant note of transition within the party. The impending retirement of the three members on 27 January marks a moment of change, but the continuity of certain nominations underlines the party’s trust in individuals who have played integral roles in shaping its trajectory.

In essence, Maliwal’s journey symbolizes the evolution of activism into political representation, with a focus on bringing about meaningful change. The party’s decisions, coupled with the personal choices of its members, weave a narrative of dedication, transition, and the ongoing pursuit of a progressive political landscape that addresses societal issues with compassion and resolve.


my circle story

MY CIRCLE STORY - stories from every corner

Weave Your World with Threads of Fashion, Business Brilliance, News Narratives, Storybook Moments, and Healthful Chapters.

Edit Template


Scroll to Top